Bloggers Quilt Festival: entry two

this is my second entry into the bloggers quilt festival hosted by Amy at Amy’s Creative Side. I’m entering this quilt into the baby quilt category.

arial

I have this gorgeous pink baby quilt. This is a traditional pattern, Amish Irish Chain. It is basically the exact same as an Irish chain with a nine patch taken out of the block to form an X or +.

xs

This baby quilt is backed in ridiculously soft white flannel with pink polka dots! This is my first time quilting with flannel so I was sure to search for lost of advice! I found this post at Sew Katie Did most helpful. I made sure to pre-shrink my flannel backing. It shrunk a lot! 45″ fabric to 40″! It was a pain pressing all the wrinkles out of the flannel once it came out of the dryer because you can’t use steam :/

chrysanthemum

I quilted the top with Rachel’s chrysanthemum quilting tutorial. I was impressed with the results of the quilting and how surprisingly easy it was to do! I think the cute flowers definitely make this baby quilt extra girly!

quiltlabel

Because I used both flannel and batting, I decided to use a wider double-fold binding. I normally do a 2.5″ and decided to make it 3″ its a little big so I think next time I will do a 2.75″. I just didn’t want to have any of my pre-binding zigzags showing.

I also included a little label. I made this with a leftover swath of the lace elements I used on the front and a Prima pen.I like how it sticks away slightly from the binding :)

This quilt featured Art Gallery Fabrics: Lace Elements in pink lace and Coquette in fashion scent peach.

10 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival: entry two

  1. So pretty! I recently made a quilt with a flannel backing and I struggled a bit with the 2.5 inch binding (which was also flannel…). You are smart to make it a little wider.

  2. Hi Stephanie:)! I couldn’t find your email so I’m just leaving a comment over here! I haven’t tried a t-shirt quilt with minky but I would imagine it wouldn’t be too bad. Just keep in mind that sewing over jersey material in the first place is hard work, and I’ve heard that minky can be finicky to work with. I’m going to be trying a flannel backing in December and I’ll let you know how that goes. Otherwise regular cotton works well, too!

Please share your thoughts. I love reading comments!

