Honey Honey Chevron…maybe

I recently bought 2 yards of Wayside in Sunset from Kate Spain‘s collection Honey Honey. I cannot say how much I LOVE this fabric!! It is THE most beautiful print I have found thus far! It must be sheets for my bed! Please Kate if you see this make my dreams come true and partner up with some store to make sheets! (Queen size please)

2013-05-03 17.53.26

This fabric has so many fabulous colors in it! Coral, aqua, light green, buttercup, LOVE it!

So when I find a fabric I love I become paralyzed and petrified to cut into the gorgeous fabric. Surprisingly, I could not hold back any longer! I needed to cut this fabric up and make it into something fabulous so I could hang out with it all the time :)

2013-05-03 17.51.28

So I cut it into some 5 inch charms while watching Scandal (great show! If you haven’t seen it yet the first season is on Netflix)! I luckily had the perfect solid it stock to pair with it: Kona Ash! I also cut the Kona into 5 inch charms. I sewed these up, twice down the middle, to make HSTs!

2013-05-03 17.51.14

I’m still not sure where I want to take this quilt…maybe a chevron, maybe something different. I think I’ll just feel where the gorgeous fabric takes me :)

Luckily you can make almost anything from HSTs!

2013-05-03 17.53.41

Should I keep the Lizzy House Hello Pilgrim stripe?

15 thoughts on “Honey Honey Chevron…maybe

  1. This is my favorite fabric too!!! I’m obsessed with it and I’m about to stockpile some when I get paid next. I’m also cutting into some honey honey this weekend. And watched scandal. Loving where yours is going and glad we are both having such good weekends!! Haha.

  2. It is wonderful to love a material as much as you do. Your excitement really shows thru your writing about the material. It is going to be a great quilt.
    Kathleen

  3. Stephanie, i’m so happy to hear how smitten you are with this print! I love how you’ve paired it with Kona ash…sets off those colors so beautifully! Can’t wait to see what you decide on for a quilt composition. And btw, we are working on making that dream of yours come true *winkwink* happy sewing! xo

    • Really?! That would be amazing! You should put me on a waiting list :) Now, I think I may have to make this quilt into a queen size beauty to go on my bed!
      I originally purchased Wayside Garden for pillowcases so if this happens, I’ll still get those pillowcases and have a matching quilt!
      And Honey Honey is definitely my favorite collection of yours, so beautiful!

  4. I love that print! (I might like the version on dark blue just a leetle better.) :) I think chevrons will turn out really cute. Keep going!

  5. Pingback: Waiting… | spolgarquilts

  6. Pingback: Honey Honey Churn Dash–Finished Top!!! | spolgarquilts

Please share your thoughts. I love reading comments!

